September 10

Welcome to IB Literature 2017-18

Welcome to DP Literature! I hope that you enjoy the course as much as I love teaching it. This blog is essentially yours to rant/rave/reflect on the texts that we study over the next two years.

This is a safe space where the quality of your thoughts matters more than the quality of your writing. I just want to see you engaging with the texts/authors and ideas that we are studying.

Let’s start with an easy one… please post a comment below and let me know what was the last book you read that you really enjoyed and/or your favorite film(s) of all time.

 

-Ms. Aoife

Tags: ,

Posted September 10, 2017 by aoifeabushaqra in category Uncategorized

19 thoughts on “Welcome to IB Literature 2017-18

  1. jasminehamid0

    The last book that I read (and am still reading, there is more than one story) is Grimm’s Fairy tales. My favorite movie of all time has to be Harry Potter and the Goblet of fire, or any Harry Potter film or fantastic beasts film.

    Reply
  2. ileananove

    Hello, Ms. Aoife! I’m very excited to see what DP Literature will bring this year! The last books that I read and really enjoyed were ‘Front Lines’ by Micheal Grant and a poetry book called ‘Love and Misadventure’ by Lang Leav. I also really enjoy reading series, and so far I have loved the ‘Infernal Devices’ by Cassandra Clare and ‘Harry Potter’ by J.K Rowling.

    Reply
  3. Abder

    The last book that I really enjoyed reading was ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’, and personally my favorite book series of all time would have to be the ‘Harry Potter’ series by J.K. Rowling, and ‘Skullduggery Pleasant’ by Derek Landy.

    Reply
  4. rebeccafi

    The last book I read was Frankenstein for English, however the last book I read for fun was “And then there were none” by Agatha Christie.

    Reply
  5. lderooy

    The favourite book I have read till now is one of the Mortal Instruments series: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. It is also my favourite reading series together with the Harry Potter series. I also enjoy reading/watching comedies and mysteries Including the series Midsomer Night Murders. I am very excited about the current unit we are doing and look forward to the next two years.

    Reply
  6. rodina

    The last book I have read was a book called a light we cannot see it is a very emotional book and the author was quite brilliant in making you feel the exact feeling the character is feeling. It was an emotional rollercoaster that helps you appreciate what you have.I have really enjoyed reading it but as far as a favorite book I honestly can’t pick they are all awesome.

    Reply
  7. farrahmansi

    the last book i read was ‘Frankenstein’ by Mary Shelly, and ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’ by Oscar Wilde, but they were both for English class. the last book i read for fun was ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon, and the book i am currently reading is ‘Courage to Sour: A body in motion, a life in balance’ which is an autobiography by Simone Biles.

    Reply
  8. siddjagtiani

    The last book I read was The Hound of the Baskervilles, by Arthur Conan Doyle, because I love his work. My favourite movie of all time would be Kung Fu Panda.

    Reply
  9. fariskakish

    The last book that I read that I enjoyed was called “Sir Alex Ferguson”, an autobiography about a football manager. I liked it because it related to an interest of mine. One of my favourite series is Suits, or House of Cards.

    Reply
  10. lucyjessee

    My favorite book that I’ve read would be the Fablehaven series, but that was several years ago. I haven’t really read many books recently other than for English. I think my favorite film would be Safe Haven.

    Reply
  11. baranbasimi

    I read “The 39 Steps” last week. It is a script by Patrick Barlow. I read it for my theatre class but I also enjoyed it. It is very popular with its film, the film directed by Alfred Hitchcock. I always wanted to read its book. I’m currently reading “A Secret Notebook of a Psychiatrist” by Gerry Small.

    Reply
  12. malekaklaisy

    last book I read huh? well i kind of never read books just because I’m more of a movies and series type of person. My favourite movie is Inception!! epic movie!! my favourite series is The Mentalist.

    Reply
  13. jamiealcazar

    The last book that I read was the last book of the Inheritance series by Christopher Paolini, it was recommended to me by my cousin and i enjoyed every word of it. By the end of the book i was left speechless and didn’t know what to read next and my favorite film of all time is Interstellar because its great story and actors.

    Reply
  14. giancarlolilhomie

    The last book I read was “How to cross the border illegally” by Jose Angel. I was very surprised by how people would manage to succeed on crossing the border without getting caught. My favorite movie that I have ever watched is called “Baywatch”. I really enjoyed watching this movie because it was very hilarious and exciting.

    Reply
  15. zainalkhatib

    The last book I read was Brooklyn by Colm Toibin and The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri for English class. Currently, I am not reading any books. My favourite movies are movies like The Breakfast Club, Stardust, Kill Bill, Breakfast At Tiffany’s, and Lilo And Stitch.

    Reply
  16. kathrintrillingsgaard99

    The last book that I read was Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. I have read many books but this one really stood out to me because of how it was written and because of the cliffhanger ending. My favorite movie is Beauty and the Beast (live version) because of the songs, and the story is also really beautiful.

    Reply
  17. Jennifer Lee

    The last book that I read and enjoyed was Me before you by Jojo Moyes. My favorite movies are Passengers, Me before you, and The Hunger Games series.

    Reply
  18. reuvinsunny

    The last book that I read that I really liked was, Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab. I am currently reading a book called Windwitch by Susan Dennard. I like books, anime and manga (anything fantasy related really.) My favorite book is, A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*