November 27

The Frankenstein Myth

How does your reading of Mary Shelley’s novel challenge your preconception or stereotype of the Frankenstein myth?  Refer to any forms of popular culture (TV/Film etc.) which familiarized you with Frankenstein’s “monster.” Did you confuse Victor Frankenstein with his creation? Include relevant videos/images to support your post.

~~~~~

Before I read the book I was not aware that Frankenstein wasn’t the monster but in fact the scientist ‘Victor Frankenstein’ which created it. I did know that there was a scientist but I always referenced the monster as Frankenstein. I was also always quite confused to as how the monster was created because in cartoons and shows growing up Frankenstein was always referenced as an evil monster that eats little children’s brains, sort of like a zombie, or instead, a nice Frankenstein as seen in Hotel Transylvania. I had always pictured Frankenstein as a cartoon-like a creature. In fact, the 1st time I saw a movie that represented Frankenstein was when I saw Hotel Transylvania. That adaptation was what I based my knowledge on for the past 15 years until I discovered it was untrue through reading Mary Shelly’s book.

 

Tags: , ,

Posted November 27, 2017 by Rodina in category HL Literature

1 thoughts on “The Frankenstein Myth

  1. Zuhaa Siddiqi

    I relate as I also thought the creation to be of kind-hearted nature. I never stressed to look too much into the legend as, since it was widely accepted, I felt no need

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*